Irony Alert! Irony Alert!

Standard

Google STreet awkward

The man who brought you the above picture is worried about invasions of privacy. Yes that’s the picture that Eric Schmidt’s company Google took as part of their street view programme in Australia of a couple having sex.

He’s worried that the rise of the mini-drones that are becoming commercially available could be used for criminal or terrorist purposes. Fair point, but if I were to combine the use of Google Maps, Street View and a Google Search I can actually see into most people’s gardens and plan my point of entry and exit from their gardens if I wanted to burgle them. Seems a bit rich to me that he’s worried about this,

He is actually quoted as saying “How would you feel if your neighbour went over and bought a commercial observation drone that they can launch from their backyard. It just flies over your house all day. How would you feel about it?” BBC Website

Well you never asked me when my photo ended up on Street View when we lived at our previous house. All you can see is me looking at the car passing with a confused look on my pixellated face. You also neglected to ask anyone’s permission when compiling Google Earth if I wanted my house featured or not. Don’t get me wrong, I love the fact I can jump online and search a location using your company’s services – but there are severe double standards if you are complaining that if the general public does it that’s stepping over a line.

Yes there are issues with this sort of technology and yes we need to be aware of what is happening, but for me shouldn’t the governments of our respective countries maybe think about this type of issue. ID cards was a huge issue, but photographing people’s houses for an international database is fine then?

JD

Thoughts? Then share them!

