New York, London, Paris, Munich

Standard

flags

Everyday I log on to blog I check the latest stats to see how many folk are looking at the blog and where in the world they are – and it never ceases to baffle me where in the world people are reading my nonsense from. Today alone six people from Japan have read articles on the site which is weird for me because I never thought anyone would read this rubbish let alone people on the other side of the world.

Outside of the UK my top ten biggest visitors are from: USA, France, Australia, Ireland, Canada, Germany, Switzerland, Brazil, Sweden and India. Hello, Bonjour, Guten Tag! I assume that most of these lovely people are Brits abroad or something because I find it hard to think what they would be reading on here. I am terribly grateful and flattered you are reading my blogs, so thank you.

This is the absolute joy of the internet – for people my age and older the internet is still an amazing thing. What Tim Berners-Lee and co did by creating the World Wide Web is allowed us to communicate in a way we’d only seen in sci-fi films. Not only can we all share our ideas and thoughts on blogs and social networks but through Skype, social networks and messenger services we are instantly in touch with anywhere else in the world. The generation that followed mine will never experience such a change as we did when it became readily available to us all. I still remember sitting down at a huge screen (deep not wide!) that allowed me after a lot of screeching to access information in school from the Web which at the time seemed fairly normal as we had gotten used to CD Roms that did similar things, but in the last twenty years our lives have been changed forever by those three letters “www”.

I don’t think we truly understand what a change this has made as we all take it for granted now as a standard in our daily lives. In fact one of the markers in the poverty gauge is whether you have internet access. Strangely it is the technology and internet that is dragging people up out of poverty across the developing world with hundreds of thousands of mobile phones with internet access which is allowing people across the world to buy and sell, communicate and network, trade and stock.

The most remarkable thing is that Tim Berners-Lee gave us this gift for free. At the opening ceremony of last year’s Olympics he tweeted the words “This is for everyone”, and it’s a gift that will let the world become more connected and integrated with each days use. He could have made it a business he profited from, but instead he gave us a freedom that we don’t always recognise and that is communication. From Tweets for Iranians fighting the regime, to images from Russia of a falling Meteor – from watching the start of the new year in the Antipodes to the travels and adventures at the poles and the highest and lowest points on earth we are all connected through this present we were given.

So thank you for visiting or stumbling across the blog, I really do appreciate it and I hope that when I finally get to travel the world in the way I want to I’ll be able to visit all the vast and varied countries that have taken the time to visit me here.

JD

Thoughts? Then share them!

