All Plane Sailing?

Standard

plane

Oh good, an emergency landing at Heathrow a week before we take off to fly to Italy on Activities week! I’m a good flyer because as Bob Monkhouse always said “it’s not flying I’m afraid of, it’s not flying!”

My first trip on a plane was in 1996 when we flew from Aberdeen to Amsterdam to do a gig in The Hague with a small group from the Strathspey and Reel Society. I was a bit on the nervous side and was shocked at the amount of noises the plane made during take off – the wheels retracting back into the plane was a scare that caught me out. After that though I relaxed and enjoyed it.

I still do. For me there is no more peaceful place than being up above the clouds with nothing in vision for miles. Take offs are still not my favourite things as the swinging about and sudden drops are something I don’t think I’ll ever get used to. Or the lack of space. At six foot three I do struggle to fit into the seats without wrapping both legs up round my neck and if the numpty in front puts their seat back then I’m really in trouble – wish I could afford first class!

Not sure I could get back on a plane straight away if i had been on a plane that had just made an emergency landing – mind you we all know the stats are that aeroplanes are much safer than cars but we know that you don’t take cars thousands of feet up in the air with no chance of stopping or getting off. Add in fifty kids and I think it might just be the end of me.

Fingers crossed that we have a safe and double safe trip with no drama or excitement of any kind. People keep saying to me to enjoy my holiday – but it’s not a holiday! There’s little time to relax, you spend your whole time looking out for the kids and making sure they are all safe and within sight at all times. You really feel the sense of responsibility you have taking other people’s kids away, but last year was a great success so I’m sure this year will be no different.

JD

Thoughts? Then share them!

