This post might not be for you…

Standard

freedom_of_speech_thumb

From the Human Rights Act:

Article 10: Right to freedom of expression

1. Everyone has the right to freedom of expression. This right shall include freedom to hold opinions and to receive and impart information and ideas without interference by a public authority and regardless of frontiers. This Article shall not prevent states from requiring the licensing of broadcasting, television or cinema.

2. The exercise of these freedoms, since it carries with it duties and responsibilities, may be subject to such formalities, conditions, restrictions or penalties as are prescribed by law and are necessary in a democratic society, in the interests of national security, territorial integrity or public safety, for the prevention of disorder or crime, for the protection of health or morals, for the protection of the reputation or rights of others, for preventing the disclosure of information received in confidence, or for the maintaining of the authority and impartiality of the judiciary. 

Having your words monitored rather than read and used against you is a dangerous game to play. While I might not always be right in my opinions I always express them honestly and never aim to do harm to anyone – unless they work for the Daily Mail obviously, then it’s open season. Over the last twelve months or so some have used my words and ideas against me – knowingly or not. I have no issue with you reading and engaging in a discussion, but I feel that lines have – and are – being crossed with regard to me and my blog.

Yesterday was the 63rd Anniversary of the death of Eric Arthur Blair and I feel that we are as a country sliding towards the world he envisaged in his most powerful book (Google his name if you don’t know who I’m talking about). Yes my blog is a publicly available thing and I understand that not everyone will agree with what I say or respect the privacy that I have beyond the publications I write, but I ask you to consider what it is that you hope to gain from continuing this task you’ve been given. It’s not for my benefit or yours.

JD

PS If you don’t understand a word of that, then I’m glad. 🙂

Thoughts? Then share them!

